Nelson Bay Marlins

About the Nelson Bay Marlins

The Nelson Bay Marlins football club was formed in 1980 and entered into the NAFL in the reserve grade competition and lost their first grand final. The following year under 17,s were also entered with the seniors going one better and wining the GF. 1982 saw the side move to 1st grade for 2 years, then had to move back to reserve grade in 1984 due to a lack of numbers but saw the team go through undefeated and win the grand final.

Promoted back into 1st grade in 1985, with also a reserve grade and under 17,s taking the field and teams being fielded in the juniors comp. 1987 took the club into the grand final (loosing) but were to play in finals nearly every year up to 2001, playing in 8 grand finals and wining 4 first grade premierships along the way.

2000 saw the now large number of junior’s playing form their own committee and to date have won flags in various age groups. 2000 also resulted in the BDAFL being formed and a divisional system introduced with Nelson Bay in premier div till 2008 when due to mixed results the club moved back to 1st and 2nd division and consolidated player numbers. 2012 resulted in playing and losing the grand final but 2013 saw a win moving the club back to premier division for 2014. 2018 will see the men’s competition structure revert to two divisions with the Marlins fielding teams in both.

A women’s comp was introduced in 2015 with Nelson Bay fielding a team that has played in every grand final, winning in 2016. Two players from the Marlins have played in the AFL- Troy Luff, Sydney Swans and Craig Bird Sydney Swans & traded to Essendon for the 2016 season and one for the AFLW – Pippa Smyth, GWS Giants. Four players have won the league best & fairest Elliott Davey medal – Wes Phillips, Pat White, Andy Thomas and Jayden Rymer.